The Different Wooden Grades Explained

Image by midascode from Pixabay

When choosing a new flooring, there’s many factors to take into consideration. Wood flooring has been used in our homes for generations and it’s only getting more popular.

If you’ve decided on wood flooring, the decision journey doesn’t end there. Then comes the question of which wood, grade and finish to go for; make sure that you do your research before you buy. In this article, we’re going to look at the different wood grades available and help you decide which is best for you.

Prime / A Grade

This grade is known as the purest, with minimal knots and grains offering a clean premise to the wood. This means it’ll work well with a contemporary style interior or just if you enjoy something fresh. This grade presents a neutral appearance, meaning it’ll go well with most furnishings!

Common / AB Grade

This is probably the most popular grade, as it’s a nice medium between a clean and authentic look. The wood’s natural beauty is preserved but with all the necessary protection from wear and tear. You still get the desirable authentic charm that makes wood so popular, but still achieving that slick look.

Classic / ABC Grade

A classic grade allows the natural variation of wood without the knots and grains being too stressed. The planks will differ in terms of colour, knots and grains, which is perfect if you want something with lots of character and charm.


This grade is true to its name, there’s no limits to the number of grains and knots it contains. The colour will also vary and the wood has purposely been preserved to keep it as natural looking as possible. This grade is ideal if you want a floor oozing with character and if a rustic/farmhouse interior is to your taste.

Although these grades are only slightly different, if you’re the sort of person who notices little details, then pay close attention to these grades.

Sponsored post
Please follow us:
Follow by Email
Visit Us
Follow Me