Seas of Ramion by Frank Hinks Review

Seas of Ramion

Seas of Ramion features 3 stories from the series and has weird and wonderful characters that children will love.

Seas of Ramion is a collection of three Ramion children’s adventure stories by Frank Hinks for children age 7 years +. I have previously read The Body Collector and Boris and the Dumb Skulls and loved both and they make good Halloween bedtime stories. So with my previous knowledge of the stories I was looking forward to reading this collection especially as if features The Body Collector that I had already enjoyed.

When the book arrived I opened the package to find a nice thick book with 240 pages that screamed quality because of the weight and the thickness of the paper and the bright, bold colourful printing, a definite winner with me for a children’s book. Now this was where I got a big surprise; £9.99 for the book, that couldn’t be correct, could it? Considering each individual story has a RRP of £7.99 if purchased as a separate book £9.99 for a combined collection, especially of the quality previously mentioned I expected a retail price of £14.99 or at the very least £12.99, so after checking the press release, Ramion Books website and Amazon it was indeed correct, what a bargain!

Now for the actual stories contained within the book. Was I going to be as impressed with them as I was with the feel and quality of the book?

If you haven’t read any of the Ramion series before they are based on the Kent village of Shoreham and the magical land of Ramion. Each story features strange magical delights that will capture the imagination of the reader, young or old with characters like Boris the floating skull, Griselda the evil witch, Julius, Alexander & Benjamin (3 brothers looking for adventures) and a supporting cast of dim dwarves, mummies, vampires, ghosts and more.

The first story is The Kingdom of the Deep where Griselda and her floating skull Boris go on holiday to her holiday’s castle only to find that she has turned it into a holiday let. Julius, Alexander & Benjamin and their mum and dad have rented the castle for their holiday but without Snuggle, the boy’s magic cat who protects them from danger. Griselda has promised not to eat the boy’s while they are staying in the castle but finds a way to banish them to the Kingdom of the Deep. Now the boys are on their own adventure and must help a mermaid Queen get her tail back buy will Griselda now get her wish and finally be able to eat the boy’s?

The second story is The Blizzard Wizard who tricks Cloud 9 into freeing him from prison who then releases a storm over the Land of Ramion. The 3 brothers must find ingredients for Earth, Wind, Fire and Water to send the Blizzard Wizard back to prison and return Ramion to its former self.

The third story is The Body Collector and tells the tale of Boris the Floating Skull who is bought by Griselda but has a flaw; he is quite happy to scare people but cannot fry them as Griselda would like. All he wants is his body back and he longs to dance.

This collection of stories are fantastic tales that children will just love. With all sorts of weird and wonderful characters and the 3 boys seeking out adventures protected by their magical cat, the magical Land of Ramion has something that every child will enjoy. The book is also beautifully with bright vivid colours and help children visualise what is happening within the story.

If you haven’t read any of the Ramion series before then I recommend starting with this. Not only do you get 3 stories from the Ramion series bound in a quality hardcover book but it is excellent value for money with a retail price of just £9.99.

Rating: 5/5

RRP: £9.99 (hardcover)

Available to buy from Amazon here.

Disclosure: I was given a free copy of this book in order to write an honest and impartial review. All opinions are my own.
Please follow us:
Follow by Email
Visit Us
Follow Me


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.